Tip toes

kids_dance_200.jpg

Alongside my continuing search for a great dance studio for adults, Jay at Feministe wrote the following:

Why I love my daughter’s dance class 

Which articulates pretty darn well what I am looking for – a place that’s interested in fun rather than shame and stress.

Which in turn reminds me of Jess McCabe’s post that started me on the search in the first place : A Feminist Guide to Ballet

Not because I hadn’t been thinking of it, but because classical ballet does tend to encourage such a narrow, traditional version of “femaleness”.  A version that I can no longer countenance, knowing what I do about the socialization of girls.  That said, ballet can also encourage strength, discipline, precision, and creativity – all qualities that fit very well with my idea of health and well-being.

Jess’s post reminded me of all these things, as well as a lesson that I think we all forget from time to time – much to our detriment – that we are allowed to be beginners.  We are allowed to make mistakes and to be learning.  We are allowed to lack expertise.

Frankly, I’d like to attend a ballet class taught by a 7 year old.   Imagine the total lack of pressure to be perfect.

~ by heycarahe on December 1, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
